| Centre type | From-price | Referral rule | Report time | Source | Date checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dedicated scanning centre group (Vista Health) | £249 off-peak; £360 standard; £380 fast track (within 7 days) | Self-referral accepted (18+) | Written report within 3 working days | vista-health.co.uk | 5 October 2026 |
| Open or upright MRI (dedicated centre group) (Vista Health) | From £575 (Birmingham upright); from £600 (London open and upright) | Self-referral form offered | Report by a consultant radiologist; time not stated on the page | vista-health.co.uk | 5 October 2026 |
| Specialist orthopaedic clinic (Fortius Clinic Wimbledon) | £735 one part (guide price, excludes consultant fees) | Referral letter may be needed; physio referral may be accepted | Not stated on the price page | fortiusclinic.com | 5 October 2026 |
| Specialist orthopaedic clinic (Fortius Clinic (Marylebone, City, London)) | £950 one part (guide price, excludes consultant fees) | Referral letter may be needed; physio referral may be accepted | Not stated on the price page | fortiusclinic.com | 5 October 2026 |
| Hospital group (50+ hospitals) (Circle Health Group) | From £347; varies by hospital, quote may be higher | Priced on the scans requested by the professional who referred you | Same day in some cases; otherwise within one week | circlehealthgroup.co.uk | 5 October 2026 |
- Price is per single body area. Contrast, if needed, is £125 extra.
Each figure is the centre's own published price, checked 5 October 2026; the quote a centre gives you for London is what counts. Listed does not mean partner. See Sources.
What we can and cannot do in London
We are not a clinic and not the NHS. We do not scan, diagnose, refer or book a slot, and we cannot tell you whether you need a lumbar spine MRI. Urgent symptoms such as new weakness, numbness around the genitals or back passage, loss of bladder or bowel control, a sudden severe headache or chest pain need 999, NHS 111 or your GP today. What we can do: show the London prices and rules we checked, and pass your request to one partner centre covering London, if one does. Free for you; the centre may pay us.
Four steps to a private lumbar spine MRI in London
- Body area: lumbar spine, one side unless you say otherwise.
- Referral rule: self-referral or a letter, depending on the London centre.
- Centre type: dedicated, hospital group or open, compared on price, rule and report time.
- Ask one centre to contact you with the form. Nothing is booked until you agree a time and price.
Where can I get a private lumbar spine MRI in London?
London has more private MRI capacity than anywhere else in England, and more variety. There are dedicated scanning centres spread across the boroughs, hospital groups with several sites, specialist orthopaedic and sports clinics, and private patient units inside some NHS hospitals. Central London's private hospitals cluster around Marylebone and the Harley Street area, where prices are usually highest. Outer boroughs often have cheaper dedicated centres with easier parking.
Spire Healthcare's own hospital list includes Spire London East Hospital, Spire Kings Cross Clinic and Spire Wimbledon Clinic, and Circle Health Group lists The Blackheath Hospital and The Clementine Churchill Hospital in Harrow. Spire and Circle did not publish a London MRI price we could verify for those sites on 5 October 2026, so they are not in the table. Fortius Clinic publishes guide prices for its central London sites and Wimbledon; they are in the table, and exclude consultant fees.
Vista Health's own location list, checked 5 October 2026, includes these sites for the London area: Waterloo, Fitzrovia (central London), Stratford, Ealing, Golders Green, Barnet, Enfield, Hornchurch, Kingston upon Thames. Its prices are national, so the table row applies to each of them; check that the site you pick offers a lumbar spine scan on the day you want.
Can I book a private lumbar spine MRI in London without a GP?
Yes, at centres that accept self-referral. Vista Health offers adult self-referral for spine scans after a questionnaire, at the same price at its sites near London. Hospital groups usually ask for a referral from a GP, consultant or registered physiotherapist. NICE guidance says imaging for low back pain should not be offered routinely in non-specialist settings, so a good centre may ask what the scan will change. If you have numbness around the genitals or back passage, new bladder or bowel problems, or weakness in both legs, do not wait for a private scan: go to A&E or call 999 or NHS 111. See self-referral.
London is one of only two places where we found open and upright MRI at a published price: £600 on 5 October 2026. A specialist may want an upright scan if your back pain changes with sitting or standing. For a first lower back scan, a standard closed scanner is cheaper and gives more detail. If lying flat is painful, a long journey across London beforehand can make it worse, so choose a nearby site.
How long is the NHS wait for an MRI in London?
London's NHS hospitals are run by many separate trusts, including Guy's and St Thomas', King's College Hospital, Barts Health, University College London Hospitals, Imperial College Healthcare and St George's. Waits for an MRI differ between them. NHS England's diagnostics waiting times data for July 2026 (DM01, published 10 September 2026) show that 21.4% of people waiting for an MRI had already waited six weeks or more. That is the figure for England, not for London. NHS England's monthly diagnostics data page publishes figures for each trust; check yours if you are already on a list.
How do I get to a scanning centre in or near London?
Allow for travel time as well as price. A scan in Zone 1 can mean an hour each way from outer London. Many dedicated centres in outer boroughs are a short walk from a station or have parking, which central sites rarely do. If you drive, check the Congestion Charge and ULEZ before choosing a central site. Vista Health's sites alone run from Kingston in the south-west to Hornchurch in the east and Enfield in the north, so it is worth choosing by where you live, not by the London label. If you need someone to take you home after sedation, that matters even more.
Should I see a physio in London before a lower back MRI?
Usually. Most back pain, even severe pain, improves within weeks, and MRI often shows disc bulges and wear in people with no pain at all. A physio or GP who has examined you can tell you whether a scan is likely to change your treatment, for example leg pain that is not settling, or when an injection or surgery is being considered. Many private physios in London can refer you and then read the report with you.
Will a London lower back scan explain my sciatica?
It may show a disc or narrowing pressing on a nerve root at the level that matches your leg symptoms. It may also show changes at other levels that are not causing anything. Matching the scan to your symptoms is the job of a physio, GP or spinal specialist. Many episodes of sciatica settle within weeks to a few months, so a scan is most useful when symptoms persist or an injection or surgery is being considered.
Can I have a lower back MRI in London after spinal surgery?
Usually, yes. Most spinal screws and rods are MRI-safe, but the centre will want details first, and metal can blur the images close to it. After previous surgery a radiologist may want contrast, to tell scar tissue apart from a new disc problem, which adds to the price. Bring the operation note or the hospital and date, and tell the centre about any spinal cord stimulator, which needs special checks.
Back to the main private lumbar spine MRI page, or see other cities.
Is a private MRI more expensive in London?
Central London clinics are usually the most expensive. On 5 October 2026, Fortius Clinic listed £950 for one part at its central sites and £735 in Wimbledon, while dedicated centres charging national prices started from £249.
Where are dedicated MRI centres in London?
They are spread across the boroughs, not only in the centre. Vista Health alone listed nine London-area sites on 5 October 2026, from Kingston to Hornchurch.
Can I book a private lower back MRI in London without a GP?
Yes, at centres taking adult self-referral for spine scans. Hospital groups near London usually ask for a letter. Saddle numbness or bladder changes mean A&E, not a booking.
Do I need an MRI for back pain?
Often not straight away. NICE says imaging should not be routine in non-specialist settings. A scan helps most when it would change your treatment.
Want one London centre to call you? Request a private MRI.