| Centre type | From-price | Referral rule | Report time | Source | Date checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dedicated scanning centre group: contrast add-on (Vista Health) | +£125 if contrast is needed (not for under 16s) | Contrast scans go through an enquiry form first | Written report within 3 working days | vista-health.co.uk | 5 October 2026 |
| NHS trust private patient tariff (Dorset County Hospital NHS FT, private patients) | £577.50 one part, excludes consultant fee; contrast £52.50 (tariff 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027) | Not stated in the tariff | Not stated in the tariff | dchft.nhs.uk | 5 October 2026 |
| Dedicated scanning centre group: prostate MRI (Vista Health) | £395 bi-parametric (no contrast); £650 multi-parametric (with contrast); £695 with PSA test | Self-referral accepted (18+) | Report and images within 3 working days | vista-health.co.uk | 5 October 2026 |
| Dedicated scanning centre group: cardiac MRI (Vista Health) | £750 routine; £900 with contrast | Self-referral offered | Full report within 3 working days | vista-health.co.uk | 5 October 2026 |
- On the same date Vista's general MRI price list showed £495 bi-parametric and £595 multi-parametric. Ask the centre which price applies.
Prices are the centres' own published figures, checked by Pete on 5 October 2026. A centre may change a price at any time; the centre's quote is what counts. We delete a row we cannot re-check. Listing a centre here does not mean it is a partner of ours. Full list on Sources.
What we can and cannot do
We are not a clinic and not the NHS. We do not scan, diagnose, refer or book a confirmed slot. We cannot tell you whether you need an MRI. If you have new weakness, numbness in the saddle area, loss of bladder or bowel control, sudden severe headache, chest pain or any symptom that frightens you, call 999 or NHS 111, or see your GP, today.
What we can do: explain the price, the referral rule and the centre types in plain English, and, if you ask, pass your request to one independent scanning centre that covers your area so it can contact you. That is free for you. The centre may pay us a fee.
Four steps to a private MRI
- Body area. Name the one area to be scanned: the body area. Two areas usually cost more than one.
- Referral rule. Check whether the centre takes self-referral or wants a letter from a GP, physio or consultant. See self-referral and GP letter.
- Centre type. Dedicated scanning centre, hospital group, or open MRI. Compare the from-price, the referral rule and the report time.
- Ask one centre to contact you. Use the form. One partner centre may call or email you. Nothing is booked until you agree a time and price with them.
What is MRI contrast?
MRI contrast is a liquid injected into a vein, usually in your arm, part-way through the scan. Most MRI contrast agents contain gadolinium. It makes some tissues and blood vessels show up more clearly, which helps the radiologist tell apart different kinds of tissue, see inflammation, or see how blood flows to an area.
Which MRI scans need contrast?
It depends on the question, not just the body area. Contrast is commonly used for:
- Pituitary scans.
- Characterising a lump, for example in the liver or kidney.
- Multi-parametric prostate MRI (bi-parametric does not use it).
- Some brain scans, for example to look at a known lesion.
- Cardiac scans looking for scarring or inflammation.
- Some MRA scans of blood vessels.
- Spine scans after previous spinal surgery.
Most first scans of a knee, shoulder, hip, ankle or the lower back do not need contrast. An MR arthrogram, where contrast is injected into a joint, is a different procedure.
How much does contrast add?
On 5 October 2026, Vista Health listed contrast at £125 on top of its single-area price, not for under-16s, with an enquiry form first. Dorset County Hospital's NHS private patient tariff listed a separate contrast charge. Vista's prostate scans were priced at £395 without contrast and £650 with it; its cardiac MRI was £750 without and £900 with.
Is MRI contrast safe?
For most people, yes, but it has limits you should know first. Side effects such as a cold feeling, a metallic taste or mild nausea are common and pass quickly. Allergic reactions are uncommon; severe ones are rare, and centres that give contrast are equipped to treat them. Tell the centre if you have had a reaction to contrast before, or have asthma or other allergies.
People with significantly reduced kidney function need extra care with gadolinium contrast, so centres usually ask about kidney disease, diabetes and age, and may want a recent kidney blood test (eGFR) before the scan. Tell them if you are pregnant or breastfeeding; contrast is usually avoided in pregnancy unless essential.
Small amounts of gadolinium can stay in the body after some contrast agents. Regulators have restricted some agents for that reason. Ask the centre which agent it uses if you are concerned.
Why do contrast scans take longer to book?
A centre has to check that contrast is justified and safe for you, and a doctor or trained staff member must be available on site when it is given. That is why many centres route contrast scans through an enquiry or referral review, and why some dedicated centres offer fewer contrast slots.
How much does MRI contrast cost?
On 5 October 2026, Vista Health added £125 to its single-area price. Other centres include it in a scan-specific price or charge separately.
Do I need contrast for a knee or back MRI?
Usually not for a first scan. It is used more for lumps, inflammation, the pituitary, some prostate and heart scans, and after spinal surgery.
Is MRI contrast safe if I have kidney problems?
It needs extra care. Centres usually ask about kidney disease and may want a recent kidney blood test before giving it.
Want one centre to call you? Request a private MRI. Free for you; the centre may pay us.