Private MRI

Private cervical spine MRI in London: cost, referral, how soon (2026)

Last reviewed 5 October 2026 by Pete, editor (not a clinician). Prices checked 5 October 2026.

A private cervical spine MRI in London costs from £249 to about £950 at the centres we checked on 5 October 2026. Self-referral: yes at some centres; hospital groups usually want a referral. NHS England's July 2026 DM01 data show 21.4% of MRI waiters had waited six weeks or more.

  • England
  • Independent
  • Not a clinic
  • Not the NHS
Private cervical spine MRI prices relevant to London, checked 5 October 2026
Centre typeFrom-priceReferral ruleReport timeSourceDate checked
Dedicated scanning centre group (Vista Health)£249 off-peak; £360 standard; £380 fast track (within 7 days)Self-referral accepted (18+)Written report within 3 working daysvista-health.co.uk5 October 2026
Open or upright MRI (dedicated centre group) (Vista Health)From £575 (Birmingham upright); from £600 (London open and upright)Self-referral form offeredReport by a consultant radiologist; time not stated on the pagevista-health.co.uk5 October 2026
Specialist orthopaedic clinic (Fortius Clinic Wimbledon)£735 one part (guide price, excludes consultant fees)Referral letter may be needed; physio referral may be acceptedNot stated on the price pagefortiusclinic.com5 October 2026
Specialist orthopaedic clinic (Fortius Clinic (Marylebone, City, London))£950 one part (guide price, excludes consultant fees)Referral letter may be needed; physio referral may be acceptedNot stated on the price pagefortiusclinic.com5 October 2026
Hospital group (50+ hospitals) (Circle Health Group)From £347; varies by hospital, quote may be higherPriced on the scans requested by the professional who referred youSame day in some cases; otherwise within one weekcirclehealthgroup.co.uk5 October 2026
  • Price is per single body area. Contrast, if needed, is £125 extra.

Each figure is the centre's own published price, checked 5 October 2026; the quote a centre gives you for London is what counts. Listed does not mean partner. See Sources.

What we can and cannot do in London

We are not a clinic and not the NHS. We do not scan, diagnose, refer or book a slot, and we cannot tell you whether you need a cervical spine MRI. Urgent symptoms such as new weakness, numbness around the genitals or back passage, loss of bladder or bowel control, a sudden severe headache or chest pain need 999, NHS 111 or your GP today. What we can do: show the London prices and rules we checked, and pass your request to one partner centre covering London, if one does. Free for you; the centre may pay us.

Four steps to a private cervical spine MRI in London

  1. Body area: cervical spine, one side unless you say otherwise.
  2. Referral rule: self-referral or a letter, depending on the London centre.
  3. Centre type: dedicated, hospital group or open, compared on price, rule and report time.
  4. Ask one centre to contact you with the form. Nothing is booked until you agree a time and price.

Where can I get a private cervical spine MRI in London?

London has more private MRI capacity than anywhere else in England, and more variety. There are dedicated scanning centres spread across the boroughs, hospital groups with several sites, specialist orthopaedic and sports clinics, and private patient units inside some NHS hospitals. Central London's private hospitals cluster around Marylebone and the Harley Street area, where prices are usually highest. Outer boroughs often have cheaper dedicated centres with easier parking.

Spire Healthcare's own hospital list includes Spire London East Hospital, Spire Kings Cross Clinic and Spire Wimbledon Clinic, and Circle Health Group lists The Blackheath Hospital and The Clementine Churchill Hospital in Harrow. Spire and Circle did not publish a London MRI price we could verify for those sites on 5 October 2026, so they are not in the table. Fortius Clinic publishes guide prices for its central London sites and Wimbledon; they are in the table, and exclude consultant fees.

Vista Health's own location list, checked 5 October 2026, includes these sites for the London area: Waterloo, Fitzrovia (central London), Stratford, Ealing, Golders Green, Barnet, Enfield, Hornchurch, Kingston upon Thames. Its prices are national, so the table row applies to each of them; check that the site you pick offers a cervical spine scan on the day you want.

Can I book a private cervical spine MRI in London without a GP?

Yes, at centres that accept self-referral. Vista Health offers adult self-referral for spine scans after a questionnaire, at the same price at its sites near London. Hospital groups usually ask for a referral from a GP, consultant or registered physiotherapist. If you have new weakness in your arms or legs, clumsy hands, trouble walking, or new bladder or bowel problems, get urgent help through NHS 111, your GP or A&E rather than waiting for a private slot. See self-referral.

A neck spine scan puts your head inside the scanner, so London residents who are claustrophobic should ask about wide-bore, open or upright scanners when booking; London has more of each than most cities. Central London has many private spinal surgeons and neurologists, but each consultation is a separate cost. If your NHS GP will read the report with you, ask the centre to send it there. You need to keep your head and neck still for the whole scan, so if neck pain makes that hard, say so when booking and ask how long the neck scan takes at that site; with so many London centres, you can compare before you commit.

How long is the NHS wait for an MRI in London?

London's NHS hospitals are run by many separate trusts, including Guy's and St Thomas', King's College Hospital, Barts Health, University College London Hospitals, Imperial College Healthcare and St George's. Waits for an MRI differ between them. NHS England's diagnostics waiting times data for July 2026 (DM01, published 10 September 2026) show that 21.4% of people waiting for an MRI had already waited six weeks or more. That is the figure for England, not for London. NHS England's monthly diagnostics data page publishes figures for each trust; check yours if you are already on a list.

How do I get to a scanning centre in or near London?

Allow for travel time as well as price. A scan in Zone 1 can mean an hour each way from outer London. Many dedicated centres in outer boroughs are a short walk from a station or have parking, which central sites rarely do. If you drive, check the Congestion Charge and ULEZ before choosing a central site. Vista Health's sites alone run from Kingston in the south-west to Hornchurch in the east and Enfield in the north, so it is worth choosing by where you live, not by the London label. If you need someone to take you home after sedation, that matters even more.

Is a neck spine scan hard if I am claustrophobic?

It can be, because your head and neck go into the middle of the scanner. Tell the London centre when you book. Ask whether it has a wider-bore scanner, a mirror, music, or a radiographer who will talk you through each stage. Open and upright scanners exist but are rarer and usually give less detailed images. Many anxious people manage a standard scan with planning.

Will a London neck scan explain tingling in my arm?

It may show a disc or bony narrowing pressing on a nerve root at the level that matches your arm symptoms, or narrowing around the spinal cord. Disc changes in the neck are very common in adults and are often not the cause, so the report needs reading with your examination. Tingling in both hands, clumsiness or trouble walking needs prompt medical assessment, not a wait for a private slot.

Do I need a neck MRI in London after whiplash?

Most whiplash injuries are soft tissue strains that improve over weeks, and imaging is not usually needed. A scan becomes more useful if there are nerve symptoms in the arms, weakness, or pain that has not improved after a period of treatment. If the injury was recent and you have severe pain, numbness or weakness, get assessed at A&E or a minor injuries unit first.

Back to the main private cervical spine MRI page, or see other cities.

Is a private MRI more expensive in London?

Central London clinics are usually the most expensive. On 5 October 2026, Fortius Clinic listed £950 for one part at its central sites and £735 in Wimbledon, while dedicated centres charging national prices started from £249.

Where are dedicated MRI centres in London?

They are spread across the boroughs, not only in the centre. Vista Health alone listed nine London-area sites on 5 October 2026, from Kingston to Hornchurch.

Can I book a private neck spine MRI in London without a GP?

At centres that take adult self-referral for spine scans, yes. Hospital sites near London usually want a referral letter.

Is a cervical spine MRI the same as a neck MRI?

No. A cervical spine MRI looks at the bones, discs, cord and nerves. A soft tissue neck MRI looks at glands, lumps and the throat.

Want one London centre to call you? Request a private MRI.